This last week, one of the gals at our church invited all the girls to a Mary Kay makeup party. Naturally, we were thrilled with the idea, but I saw my sisters’ eyes flick towards me hopefully the instant “makeup” was mentioned. As soon as we were alone, they asked the question that their faces had been asking the entire time. “Is Mary Kay gluten free?”

The Mary Kay website does not have any ingredient information at all, that I could find. So I contacted the company and received a prompt and thorough reply.

Dear customer,

We sincerely appreciate your comments and taking the time to write to us.

The information you requested is included as an attachment. If additional information is required, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-marykay (1-800-627-9529) monday through friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm central standard time and request to speak directly to consultant and medical relations.

Warmest regards,

Mary Kay Customer Operations
800-marykay (627-9529) monday – friday 8:30 am – 5:00 pm cst
The company is dedicated to mary kay’s mission to enrich women’s lives!

Here’s the attachment

So Mary Kay products are not tested for gluten content, and they cannot guarantee their products are gluten-free. 

Guess we’ll have to hang out with the gals at a different time. But I GREATLY appreciate Mary Kay’s forthrightness in dealing with the issue of gluten. Although I’m disappointed to not be able to use their products, I am very grateful to be freely given the information I need to keep myself healthy. Thank you Mary Kay for your honesty!! 😀

There are some questions brought up in the PDF about whether or not we Celiacs really need to use gluten free makeup. I don’t have time to address that tonight, but stay tuned for an article in the next few days. 😉

Update 3/10/15: Scroll down to see a comment from former Mary Kay consultant, Elaine. According to her, Mary Kay’s policies remain the same now as they were when this article was originally written.